Hello from Pretoria!

18 May

I’m going to make this quick because I don’t have much time left at the internet cafe (I promise I will sit down and do a full report soon).

On the first day, my camera go pickpocketed even though my prof even said I did everything correctly and cautiously. The whole group was very supportive and nice and my professor was especially amazing. Its almost a joke now haha I will give a full report later and please don’t be worried about me.

Just a preview of how awesome (and exhausting) this program is I’ll tell you about today. I woke up at 7am to go to the supermarket then went to two lectures from 830-~12. Then I had 45 minutes for lunch and then we got into the car and got lost driving to the election headquarters for the nation because it is national municipal elections today. We met with an MSU alum who is a top political analyst and he took us all around the headquarters then gave us a talk about the politics.

During our tour I met the Secretary General of the ANC Party (Gwede Mantashe) who is the 3rd in command of South Africa along with so many other ‘big deal’ people. I was also interviewed for a radio show talking about the differences between American elections and South African ones.

Everyone in South Africa is shockingly, spectacularly nice (aside from that one thief) and I am loving it.

🙂 –I didn’t have time to spell check or read this so I hope it makes sense

One Response to “Hello from Pretoria!”

  1. Mom May 18, 2011 at 11:56 pm #

    Mom and I just read your second post and it sounds like a great time and a lot of fun meeting all of those people and the sites your seeing. Did you buy a new camera? Enjoy every moment of this fun and exciting trip cutie and we love ya. Daddy and Mom

Leave a comment